The origins of Hollister House
start with the Person and Hollister families of Eastern North Carolina. The Breakers Hotel opened in May of 1924 at what was then known as Wilmington Beach. It was a three story brick hotel with 50 rooms, 40 with a private bath. The Ethyl-Dow Corporation leased The Breakers and eventually made into a club managed by Dr. Edgar Cooper Person. Virginia Person, daughter of this Pikeville country doctor, married Jack Hollister of New Bern in 1944.
From a hotel at the beach to a coal yard in New Bern, the Hollister family has maintained deep roots to the Old North State. Hollister House represents a new chapter in our family’s history, and a renewal in our dedication to Southern hospitality. We sought a family gathering place in a unique part of our state. Our ambitions were realized in the Village of Pinehurst